



CONVENZIONE di DOTTORATO in FILOSOFIA NORD-OVEST







23rd Pavia Graduate Conference in Political Philosophy 18-19 September 2025 Venue: University of Pavia and Collegio Cairoli, Pavia

Programme

Thursday 18 September 2025 Venue: Collegio Cairoli 13.00-13.45: **Registration**

র্জন্ট

14.00-15.30: Keynote Opening Session (Aula Magna) Chair: Ian Carter (University of Pavia)

Maria Paola Ferretti (University of Mainz) Respect for future people: a framework for responsible risk

ారసా

15.30-16.00: Coffee Break

16.00-17.15: Graduate Session 1

a – (Aula Magna) Chair: Ben Pohlmann

Zsuzsanna Velez-Sogor (University of Pécs) Corporate Distributive Justice

Francesca Pennacchini (La Sapienza Università di Roma) Generalized Access to Credit in the Age of AI **b** – (Aula Didattica 1) Chair: Camilla Barbieri

Robin Lockyer (University College London) The Puzzle of Migration for Reparative Debates

Marco Bravo Gatica (Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez)

Climate Crisis as a Limit to Procreative Rights

ふみ

17.20-18.35: Graduate Session 2

a – (Aula Magna) Chair: Alessandra Civani

Matilde Graziano (University of Trieste) Do We Need Counterspeech in Fiction? Addressing Hate Speech in Narratives

Ciara Luxton (Sciences Po Paris)

A Thin Universalism: Sufficiency, Moral Status, and the Grounds of Human Rights

b – (Aula Didattica 1) Chair: Davide Versari

Marcin Nowicki (Jagiellonian University)

Liberal Neutrality Towards Free Will - And Why It's Not That Scary

Joana Pinto (University of Minho)

Political Parties and Public Reason: Legitimacy and Deliberation in Rawlsian Political Liberalism

ふみ

19.30: Social Dinner, Pizzeria Regisole, Piazza del Duomo 4

֍֎֍֎֎֎֎֎

Friday 19 September 2025 Venue: Department of Political and Social Sciences, University of Pavia

9.30-10.45: Graduate Session 3

a – (Aula Grande) Chair: Luca Quinto

Robin Waldenburg (Goethe University Frankfurt)

Popular Sovereignty as a Practice of Justification

Aaron Bao (CEU)

Rousseau's Liberalism? Constant, Rousseau and the Problem of Modern Freedom

b – (Aula 5) Chair: Alessandro Albrici

Tarun Gidwani (King's College London)

Competition and Fairness in International Trade Relations

Gergana Boncheva (Erasmus University Rotterdam)

On the Feasibility of Pro-Union Liberalism

ふみ

10.50-12.05: Graduate Session 4 a – (Aula Grande) Chair: Edoardo Vignocchi

Benjamin Newman (Tel Aviv University) Coercive Offers and Responding to the Wrong Kind of Reasons

Igor Wysocki (Nicolaus Copernicus University)

Are Blackmail Exchanges Permissible by Libertarian Standards Economically Efficient or Not?

b – (Aula 5) Chair: Giulia Cantamessi

Xiyue Yang (CEU)

A Progressive Approach to Sharing Necessary Bad Work

Oriol Alegria (Complutense University of Madrid)

Anti-Positionality: What Is It and Why Is It Important for Debates on Equality of Opportunity?

చండా

12.05-13.30: Lunch

ళుసొ

13.30-15.20: Graduate Session 5

a – (Aula Grande) Chair: Ilkin Huseynli

Edoardo Vignocchi (University of Pavia) Taxation as a Structural Condition of Political Organization

Alexandro Berrotaran (Universitat Pompeu Fabra) No Taxes, No Property: Why Private Property Rights Require Redistribution

Alexandre Aloy (University of California – Santa Barbara)

Revising the Liberal Tradition? Re-assessing Hayek's Liberalism Through his Engagement with Ancient Greece

b - (Aula 5) Chair: Davide Versari

Peter Verpoorten (CEU) A Substantive Account of Liberal Democracy

Shiying Li (University of Wisconsin–Madison)

Reexamining the Site of Justice and Legitimacy

Jacoppo Morelli (University of Modena)

Universality In the Human Rights Debate: A Kantian Constructivist Approach

ふみ

15.20-15.50: Coffee Break

୶ୖଡ଼

14.00-15.30: **Keynote Closing Session** (Aula Grande) Chair: Federica Liveriero (University of Pavia)

Kasper Lippert-Rasmussen (University of Aarhus)

Age-Related Health Inequalities: Why Relational Egalitarians Should Embrace the Possibility of Natural Injustice

ର୍ଚ୍ଚତ

Steering Committee: Alessandro Albrici, Camilla Barbieri, Matteo Boccacci, Giulia Cantamessi, Ian Carter, Alessandra Civani, Giovanna Di Cicco, Ilkin Huseynli, Federica Liveriero, Manuel Marsico, Ben Pohlmann, Luca Quinto, Davide Versari, Edoardo Vignocchi.